A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Welcome to my blog!

Welcome to Lost in Your Lobster! In case anyone was wondering, the name comes from merging the URLs of two of my personal blogs and has no deep meaning or witty humour to it at all. The only background comes from the television series F.R.I.E.N.D.S and Heath Ledger’s smile. Sorry to disappoint.

So I’ve almost finished the second week of my first year at Cardiff Met and to be honest they have been just about as hectic and mad as I imagined. I do feel a bit like I’ve been thrown in at the deep end; so much has been launched in my direction since last Monday and staying on top of all the work as well as a brand new social circle and lifestyle has been difficult. However it’s probably better to jump right in than to stand on the side lines with nothing to do right?

So here I am, on the Thursday night of the second week, finally getting around to getting this blog up and running. I won’t witter on too much longer, I’d just like to conclude this post with a little piece of knowledge I picked up from this week’s collage workshop; something I found memorable and useful to my work. Graphic design heavily relies on the shared knowledge of its audience (things like myth, legend, pop culture and religion) in order to effectively communicate with its audience. It may seem simple and obvious enough but it’s easy to forget how important it is to make sure the content of your design is going to be recognised and fully understood by the audience. Everyone has got a different range of knowledge and it’s easy to assume what people know when in reality, what you are designing could go right over their heads.

So thank you for reading my first post, I look forward to making many more over the course of the next three years!

– Amy

Leave a Reply

