A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Laser Cutting – 08.10.2014

When I first saw the word laser on my workshop schedule, the excitable child in me did a little back flip; the idea of using concentrated heat to burn through things, what could be more exciting? So going into the workshop this morning, I was a little nervous (and not only because I had absolutely no idea how to find the room), what if I couldn’t work the machine? Would the lecturer single me out? What if I couldn’t step up to the plate? All ridiculous worries really. It turns out only three of us bothered to show up and the machine is run entirely by the computer; all I had to do was make a quick design and import it into the program. Not really rocket science.

Also Steve, the lecturer, happens to be really nice! He shares my passion for travelling and motorcycles and I can tell he has lots of interesting stories about his life before Cardiff Metropolitan University which I am looking forward to hearing. He is also an avid Cardiff City fan which could be interesting considering I spent the last two years in the company of a committed (and often violently patriotic) Swansea fan, and we all know how competitive Cardiff and Swansea can be.

Laser Printing Attempt

Laser Cutting Attempt

Laser Printing Attempt

Laser Cutting Attempt

The white background is paper and the orange is thick plastic.

Leave a Reply

