A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Self Evaluation

I’ve had to cut this down quite a lot, it was about 1000 words but I figured that wouldn’t make for very light reading… so here’s the shorter version:

During this term I have met new people, learnt new software and vocabulary and produced a selection of good work. The structure of the course and the lectures seem fairly similar to college however it has been really refreshing to work with people who have talent, intellect and a passion for their work. I hope to leave this course with a new path in life, I’d like to achieve the highest level I can and collect a portfolio of work I can be proud of. What I enjoyed most this term was the typography project; I feel this is the project I learnt the most in and one I am keen to pursue. I spent a lot of time researching and maybe not enough producing my final piece and a goal I am setting myself is to spend as much time producing work as researching and planning. I least enjoyed the book making project; it is something I am less interested in and found the software quite difficult. However I did enjoy the HTML workshop and would like to continue working with HTML during the rest of the course.

What I’ve found most difficult is producing good work in the time given; I haven’t had any trouble reaching deadlines however I feel that what I’ve handed in hasn’t been up to my usual standard. Over the Christmas break I aim to bring my work up to scratch and update my blog. I will also aim to improve my organisation for the future. My feedback has fitted the work although I know I could have got higher marks with more effort. I think I have responded well to my feedback, one of the comments was that I improve well by practising; I will continue to do this next term. I find the review sessions very helpful; it’s really important to view other people’s work to get inspiration and confirm everyone is on the same page. However sometimes there seems to be a lot of negative feedback and while constructive criticism aids learning I think the work should be celebrated a little more. University is a new stage for me, not necessarily any better or worse than the last. I believe that life is a series of different adventures and while right now I am a little worn out, I am excited to experience all the challenges and experiences that lie ahead of me.

– I’d just like to add a little insight into what I believe success to be:

It may sound a little silly by this is my opinion and it hasn’t failed me so far. I measure personal success in happiness. There it is, judge me. Success to me is waking up in the morning and watching the sunrise with a smile, it’s how content you feel with how you are living your life. It’s how lightly you walk to work and how comfortable you are with what you do during your day. It’s the caffeine buzz in the morning rather than dark bags under your eyes, the skip in your step rather than the heavy load on your shoulders. Success is building on your knowledge and always moving forward and leaving the past behind you. Life isn’t about one final goal, as I mentioned before it is a series of adventures that all teach us, change us and lead us on to new things and as cynical as it sounds, nothing lasts forever, especially in today’s society where everything is so easily disposable. I believe success in university is the happiness and pride you feel when you finish a piece of work, staying ahead of deadlines, the friendships you build with your peers and the promise of a good future. I believe I am more successful in life in general than university specifically, however I feel that it will only get better from here on and am looking forward to the new year. However right now I will enjoy the Christmas break (ignoring the disaster that will be Christmas Day and Boxing Day but we can’t have what we want all the time).

I hope everyone has a very merry Christmas and a happy new year 🙂

Leave a Reply

