A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Field Project – In the beginning

At the beginning of the Field project I was given the task of taking a five minute walk with a partner anywhere in the city and map out what we encountered. This included sounds, smells and changes in heat, direction and height. This is what me and Carys came up with:

20150119_134852

Map Drawing of our route

20150119_143455

Chalk Rubbings of different textures from the ground

map

Combined Result

Reflection:

I think if we’d had more time or repeated the task we would have produced something a bit better than what we did. The walk was rushed and done in a way that wasn’t our best work due to the weather and people staring at us making chalk rubbings on the floor. Which is understandable really; we did look pretty silly, but that’s what I like about this subject: it gives us a reason to sit on the floor and look silly and come out of it with a piece of work to admire.

I did enjoy this task, it was a fun way to get back into the course after the Christmas break and do something practical and enjoyable outside of the classroom. I’m not too sure about the sudden need to constantly work in groups that has been sprung on us since we got back, I can see how it’s a useful exercise but personally I prefer to work independently. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

