A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Field Module – Cardiff

So it has occured to me that I am absolutely terrible at keeping up to date with this blog. I’d love to say that I’ll get better and start motivating myself to publish posts after every single lesson but that seems a little unrealistic. This is the way I work and it’ll have to do. As the racy new Orange is the New Black trailer so un-subtly pushes the ruthless new hashtag trend; #SorryNotSorry.

Anyway, moving along from my obviously inappropriate and relatively sarcastic careless approach to my studies… Since my last post I have progressed through the Field module, there have been some problems and some really good, productive moments and overall has been a relatively worthwhile and enjoyable project. I put myself in a group of people I hadn’t really spoken to much before, partially because I thought it would be a smart thing to do and partly because I am becoming more and more aware of how little people in the class (and otherwise) notice I exist and everyone grouped up and left me as a stray to join an existing group of friends. Fun times. However, jokes on them, it turns out mine was a group of pretty awesome people and I really enjoyed myself.

I was grouped with Geraint, Mitchel, Rhys and Toby and we chose to work with the Hidden City topic and make a product that would communicate the historical essence of Cardiff in a info-graphic format.
To begin with I thought this would be really fun as it would give me a chance to explore the local area and discover it’s heritage. While this did end up to be true, I did thoroughly enjoy learning about the area, it became obvious how difficult it would be to present the information in an entertaining way.

Another hurdle I had during this project was the presentation we had to do as a group. I’m not the most confident person when it comes to speaking in front of large groups of people and there didn’t seem to be much chance of me backing out. However I am here at university to improve and push myself so I worked hard to motivate the group to present an interesting (and confident) presentation on our work and I think it went ok (despite the ocassional yawn, but hey, we’re a group of 1st year university students still finding our feet in this brand new world, I wasn’t expecting to much of an engaging presentation or a standing ovation from the audience).

In the end we produced a book, each with an info-graphic layout with the relevant facts and figures for each area of the city. It turned out better than I was expecting and communicated the information in a visually pleasing way, however I would have preferred to make something more unique and interesting and during the next stage of this module I will aim to produce something a little bit more creative and challenging.

Map of Cardiff

Leave a Reply

