A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Journey Project: Looking Back

Over the last few weeks I’ve been so focused on getting this Journey project finished, I have forgotten to post about how it began. I began this project hoping to communicate which parts of the course I enjoyed, which taught me the most, which differed from what I had expected and what hurdles I have faced since September. The course has been a lot more ‘handmade’ than I thought it would be, and I have learned a whole load of new skills and met people from all over the university. My initial idea was to communicate these factors by creating a ceramics piece in a graphics based environment.

IMG_7309 IMG_7310 IMG_7311 IMG_7312 IMG_7313My idea was to create a scene containing four or five figures in different poses, each one a symbol of how I was feeling at different stages of uni life. Here are a few of the clay figures I made in preparation:

IMG_7305

Some ended up a little worse off than others…


IMG_7304 IMG_7306 IMG_7307After my first tutorial with Ian I decided to change my idea to a book instead of an installation, as this would show my journey as more of a story than a physical path, and would also hold all of my ideas together better than the first idea would have. The book would have been an existing one (not one I made myself) with sections of the pages highlighted to read out a description of my journey, with a clay figure lying in a cut-out space in the pages (in a sort of ‘hiding from the outside world’ pose to reflect how I have felt over the last year).

Here is the different sized figures I made to fit in the book:

IMG_7303

Leave a Reply

