A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

It’s Finished! (Almost…)

After spending whole days slaving over this final piece I can safely say that if I ever see a piece of embroidery thread or textured paper ever again I will personally rip all of the hair out of my head and throw myself into a very deep hole. My fingers are covered with tiny (but very deep and very painful) stab wounds from where I’ve constantly been failing at sewing, and those needles are sharp! It’s taken me 5 hours straight just to bind the book, and it’s a complete mess of creased pages and broken binding holes, AND half the pages are the wrong type of paper anyway. So all in all it’s been a pretty messy, painful, waste of an evening and at this point, I hate everything.

But it’s done! The book anyway, I am so not ready to start on the sleeve to put it in yet, never mind the mountain of digital work I’ve just been emailed about (just shoot me, really). But at least I don’t have to worry about the book any more. Yay.

Here’s a few photos of me stabbing 21 holes in every. single. page. INDIVIDUALLY:

IMG_7437 IMG_7440 IMG_7441 IMG_7442

After the countless hours I spent doing this and then realising the holes weren’t anywhere near big enough for the book to be bound properly, I cried for a bit on the inside and went to sleep. I then went through every hole with an ear stretcher to stretch out the holes so they’d be big enough for the thread (another 3 hours) and finally got around to binding it, and annihilating my fingers in the process.

As you can probably tell, I’m not feeling great about this project at the moment, it’s taken an outrageous amount of work (and blinding rage) for something that looks like it was thrown together in five minutes. But I’m certain that once it is up in the exhibition and people are flicking through the pages and smiling it will all be worth it.

Until then I am going to curl up in a ball and rock back and forth for a little while.

Leave a Reply

