A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Reflection on my Journey outcome.

I was asked to describe my working method by answering these questions:

  • How experimental have you been this year in subject – where have you felt most ‘out of your comfort zone’?

Doing the subject part of the course meant I could be a lot more experimental with my work that I thought I’d be able to; I got to take part in the workshops, experience different styles of working and work with all kinds of different materials and processes. Some of my favourite parts from the subject part of this year are the collages we did at the beginning, the letterpress workshop, laser cutting and the book binding tutorial at the end. I felt most out of my comfort zone with a couple of the workshops, including the screen printing and electrics workshops because these are things a lot of my peers have done before and/or know a lot about and when we were expected to know roughly what we were doing or talking about, I felt as though I was a little further behind than the others, however this was remedied by the friendliness of staff and a dash of practice. This year has generally been a lot more ‘handmade’ than I thought it would be and I think it’s safe to say I have successfully taken full advantage of this.

  • Where have you used different media and formats effectively and imaginatively in Subject?

I have taken the first term of subject on board and used my new skills to create my final Journey piece at the end of this year. Out of the skills I learnt during the first term I have particularly focused on incorporating laser cutting and book making into my final piece and wrote about learning these skills on the inside of the book to back them up. To begin with I had planned to use ceramics for my project and create an installation of a graphics based landscape with clay figures demonstrating how I was feeling on a path through the year, to show how I’d learnt all of these new skills in subject. However during one of the reviews I was convinced otherwise in order to make a ‘cleaner’ more modern looking piece.

  • Which is your most appropriate solution?

My Journey piece of work was loosely aimed at incoming students so the printed book is probably a more appropriate format than the ceramics landscape as it doesn’t take much ‘decoding’; most of the information is obvious to the viewer. It shows off the skills I have learned and communicated my journey in a way that isn’t confusing. For a new student with a masses of information being thrown at them from all directions, my book aims to be a refreshing break from all the confusion; it presents the year in an ordered, colour coded, broken down way without looking like an attempt to be another tutorial telling them what to do, it is merely expressing the events of my year as a graphic communication student and gives the viewer something to base their expectations of the year on, in hopefully quite an entertaining way.

  • Which is the most memorable, interesting idea in your work?

My most memorable, and what I personally think is the most interesting, is probably the decision to bind it by hand. So many others who chose to make a book opted to have it printed by someone else and perfect bound. A lot of my piece was based on the idea of it being hand made, using the skills I have learnt this year so to print and bind it myself was really a no-brainer. I spent ages researching and testing out different types of binding and finally settled on a type of Japanese stab binding because I feel it fits best with the aesthetic of my piece of work and also because it was the most complex and reliable kind of binding, and I had no intention to compromise my work for the sake of it being easier and taking less time.

Leave a Reply

