A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

End of Year Babblings.

I feel as though I need to write in a slightly less formal way about this year. This blog seems a little too well structured and thought out to me (even considering it is a purely university based blog). But university isn’t all neatly cut and simple; the last year has been a mess of endless information and problems, paused ocassionally while I get my feet on the ground for a few seconds until it’s pulled back and I’m wondering what’s going on again. I’d love to say it has all been worth it, there have been some great times, I’ve met some amazing people and experienced a whole load more than I was expecting to. But then I remember how much money and time I’m spending on this chapter of my adventure and all the things I’ve left behind and sometimes I wonder what I’m even doing here.

Don’t get me wrong, I do love the excitement of not knowing what’s next and the buzz of deadlines and consequences and responsibility but I’ve often found myself yearning for an open field with a hammock and a campfire just to get away from it all.

There are loads of different types of days to experience at university:
The days when everything seems still, when you can stand in the park with the breeze on your face, a book in one hand, a camera in the other and it’ll feel like that’s all you need, and you just stand and breathe and take in the world around you.
There are the days when everything seems out of sync, you can be outside on a cool afternoon and not seem to be able to breathe.
But there are also the days when you’ll be motivated to completely turn your life around; you’ll throw on your trainers and go for that run you’ve been putting off all month, you’ll tidy your flat, finish all your homework and somehow find time to read that book you started six months ago and not managed to pick back up since.
Similar days are those where everything seems easy and light, when you can’t help but smile and greet everyone with a warm ‘hello’. You don’t get frustrated at the people walking slowly or if it starts raining. These are the days I live for, on the days when I physically can’t get out of bed, when my head’s pounding from the night before or if I’m simply too drained from stressing about uni or all the drama that seems to come with the decisions and mistakes you make.

Uni will be hard, you’ll want to stay in bed all day and cry, things are going to go wrong, but that’s life. Everything is temporary, it gets better. You made the decision to come here, work hard and change your life for the better so that is what you are going to do.

Grab each moment with optimism and excitement, because we never know how many moments, happy or sad days we have left.

Leave a Reply

