A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Back to Basics and Back to Being.

I’ve been attempting to write a post for the last couple of days. My head’s been spinning along with everything around me and somehow I’ve been left in a daze, with nothing to say and no-one to say it to. So I thought the fact that I’m going back to uni to work on branding would be a good excuse to actually post something that I’ve been working on recently. I was asked to make a brand identity for a business based in Ammanford a while ago (I say a while, I actually mean I’ve been neglecting it for months and months now it’s about time I got myself back in the saddle) and so I’ve spent loads of time on something that looks like it’s been thrown together in five minutes, and this is what it’s all come to:

AND BEFORE YOU SAY ANYTHING or judge me too hard (not that I need to justify myself at all), this is a practice exercise for my next year of uni so at the end of the year I can look back and laugh at how terribly uneducated I was and how uninspired this whole project has been so far, and then do it again. I would explain my reasoning behind it but I seem to be explaining a little too much recently and not actually making any real progress, and I think I would rather wait until I’ve done a bit more work to it before I start throwing around big “uninspired ideas and anecdotes” (I promise I will stop letting everything that comes out my mouth be defined by what he told me but recently I’ve been pushing myself towards someone very similar and I can see myself falling back into old ways and it’s not healthy but it is exciting and just a little bit inspiring so I will let it consume me until it fades away into just another bad idea in a drunken, rebounding haze). I know motivation comes naturally to so many people and the witty humour and “big words” that drip out of his mouth like poison (use your words, Amy) is easy for people like him, but I will not let his extra years of growing and expanding and complicating everything until it makes perfect sense again drag me back to being a quiet, slow, small talking mess that I have been.

And quickly moving away from the vague, mildly depressing drivel this has descended into… today I started reading the book I’ve been putting off for way too long, I discovered a whole new side to a piece of software which will almost definitely come in handy this year, I spent my first full day in my new house (and discovered all of its ‘quirky’ qualities… the beeps that appear to come from nowhere and the constant rumbling in the walls, God help me this year is going to be frustrating), I’ve started listening to house/techno music again (it calms me down and gets me focused, judge me), I’ve joined Behance in an attempt to throw myself just a little further into the design field, and despite being in this mess of broken conversations and half true promises to temporary people, I am feeling pretty optimistic and motivated to keep moving forward and I am so ready for uni to start in 3 days.

3 days, that’s a lot closer than I was expecting.

And just a little political side note: Everyone’s so hung up on the thought of a man’s penis being put in the mouth of a dead pig (I too found it amusing to begin with, if not a little disturbed by the thought), and how Black Mirror could possibly proceed in a way that doesn’t make a mockery out of itself, but really, aren’t there more important things to be getting on with? Go for a run, read a book and try to forget that David Cameron is still in control of this country.

Leave a Reply

