A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Brushed Lettering – The Hype

Just a little disclaimer before people get all up in arms about the opinion of a naive second year graphic design student who knows very little about the real world of graphics… I mean you no harm, I am constantly in awe of the amazing work that goes on out there. I am just expressing my opinion for the purpose of filling my blog up with nonsense just so I have something to write about at the end of the year.

But seriously, isn’t it time people stopped abusing the brushed lettering for the sake of making a “modern looking brand”?

ecommerce-design-trends-9_78bd31aa-fea6-420d-8ff3-ec421340f889 modern-vector-alphabet-abc-painted-letters-brushed-lettering-painted-51840107 promo12

At first it was great and when Tom Lloyd from Bluegg came into uni and showed us puny students the work he had done for Hokkei, a restaurant in Cardiff, I thought it was utterly amazing.

hokkei-brand-messaging offers-student regular_image008__1_

But now, Greggs have started using it and it pops up every time I leave my front door, and it’s just getting a little repetitive.

SPAR_Brumby_Corner_1_thumb

I’ve spent the last year being told how fast paced the design industry is and how everyone’s constantly looking for new breakthroughs in the style, but this freakin’ lettering is everywhere at the moment and it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere.

Someone please get a grip and make a new style before I explode.

Leave a Reply

