A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Photoshop’s for Losers

I tried Illustator once, couldn’t do it. I’m too accustomed to Photoshop, which apparently, in the land of graphic designers (it’s a place with unicorns and fairies, idea storms and big crowds of excitable Helvetica hating artists flying around on their pet dragons), is the worst thing in the world. So instead of doing what I probably should have done (when do I ever?) and practiced at Illustrator until I’m ready for this year of uni, I ran back to my old friend, Photoshop, tail between my legs, and learned a whole load of new, exciting things about that instead.

On an adventure through the internets, I discovered the website http://design.tutsplus.com/ which is AMAZING for Photoshop (and illustrator) tutorials and I decided to give it a bash.

I could have learnt how to colour grade photos properly, I could have learnt how to manipulate photos to make epic advertisement schemes and crazy photos of cats in the ocean… but no, I learnt how to make fancy 3D text (which I haven’t perfected so won’t upload just yet) and how to make sparkly pretend necklaces. So here you go, feast your eyes (that doesn’t sound right) on the most productive thing I’ve done all summer:

AMY

Yes, I do realise the letters aren’t perfectly matched but I couldn’t quite work out how to quickly fix it without messing up the cool link between the m and y, and after hours and hours of getting frustrated at the slightly badly written tutorial I was not in the mood to try more than once at doing it. I know “quality is doing it right even when no-one’s looking” (thanks Coffee #1 for that little nugget of ‘advice’, not so much for the creepy manager who hits on me every morning when I’m at work) but this wasn’t really meant to be the picture of quality, you can judge me as much as you like.

Leave a Reply

