A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Valreith Publishing – Photoshop, Hangovers and Doing Design Wrong

“WHATEVER YOU DO, DON’T MAKE LOGOS.” – is generally the theme of the uni studio, and yet here we are.

I woke up this morning to a mess of blue and green hair, a scattering of kebab boxes, empty whiskey bottles, a horrible sickly feeling in my stomach and that all too familiar cloud of crippling embarassment lingering over my head, with just a hint of regret. Not really the way I was planning to spend my Sunday morning. So after kicking the rabble of leftover student garbage out of the house I made the usual vow never to drink that much again and shrunk back to my room to attempt the hangover denial stage and maybe get some work done.

This was just an exercise to get myself back in touch with Photoshop and try to fit some new knowledge of the software into my head, which, surprisingly enough is a little occupied dealing with the flashbacks from last night, mainly the looks on people’s faces, and failing at controlling or shutting down this incessant banging. I also thought it might be productive to establish a visual style for the publishing company I so happily chose (sarcasm). The elven themed typeface of the first one reflects the name and the function of the company, the gold acting as a symbol of the classy elegance the company strives to radiate to its audience. Similarly with the second version; the royal red and gold give off the intended ‘vibe’ of Valreith.

Logo 2

Second Attempt

No, I still don’t have Gill Sans, Helvetica, Baskerville or Garamond on my newly factory reset laptop (*grumbles*) so the type used for the word ‘Publishing’ (and ‘Publishers’ because I can barely focus on sitting up never mind getting the name of the company right) is awful.

Logo 3

Logo 1

First Attempt

Leave a Reply

