A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Tutorial Feedback (Strong Water)

This Monday I had a tutorial to see how I was getting on with the project and how to move forward with my designs. I was given a few pieces of advice, some more helpful than others; firstly I was advised to scrap the ‘art deco’ style in the second design idea as it is a little “dated”, although to keep the idea of bold and thin type and the colour scheme as these features worked well in response to the brief. I was also told to try out some more custom lettering to establish a less technical, vector style and to find ideas through physically drawing instead of using Photoshop. Another thing was to try using different typefaces and/or sizes for the words ‘Strong’ and ‘Water’ and also to come up with a better secondary line of text, or scrap it completely as “For the finer things” doesn’t really cut it.

I agree with a lot of what was said and found the discussion helpful. In response to the points that were made I have done a few things, beginning with testing out a few custom type ideas and quickly hand drawn lettering to get an idea of a more ‘handmade’, artisan look for the company.

20151020_112152  20151020_112204 20151020_112208 20151020_112213 20151020_112220 20151020_112227 20151020_112239 20151020_112247

I then developed my favourites of these designs and used them to improve on the design of concept #2, keeping Ian’s comments in mind.

Copperplate Gothic Light - Mission Script Mission Script - Segoe UI Light 2 Mission Script - Segoe UI Light Myriad Pro - Script MT - Segoe Segoe UI Light - Mission Script Segoe UI Light Segoe UI Regular 2 Segoe UI Regular

There are a few things that I don’t like about these designs, for example, the first one is still too old fashioned, this will either be resolved by simply changing the colour scheme or the typeface to something a little more modern. Another thing I found was that #6 is too much like Apple branding, I’m not sure I like the “cocktail bar” part of #7 and #8 again, is a lot like something I’ve seen before. Saying that, I do really like #2 and #5 and will develop these further for my second design idea, possibly continuing to use the cocktail glass in the mark.

Segoe UI

I’ve just finished making this one too, although I’m not sure I like it or if it’s even read-able.

One thing I took from the session last week with Victoria was that if a mark doesn’t look good in black and white it probably isn’t a good mark, so I chose my favourites from this series and switched them to monochrome to see how good they actually looked.

Mission Script - Segoe UI Light 2 Mono Mission Script - Segoe UI Light Mono Segoe UI Light - Mission Script Mono

Leave a Reply

