A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Meditation #2

Today I rediscovered the importance of using a positive vocabulary as guidance rather than negative words to induce guilt or change. The word ‘shouldn’t’ is especially harmful, because it implies a ‘right’ and ‘wrong’, when in reality every decision you make only leads to a different path or series of events, the concept of right and wrong is just that, a concept, and something that, of course, should be considered, but not seen as black and white as we all seem to see it as.

I also learnt a couple of sanskrit words; ‘sati’ and ‘chita’. ‘Sati’ is a Pali word which sometimes translates to mean awareness or skillful mindfulness, and chita, originating from the word ‘chit’ which means ‘to be conscious’, refers to the mind and the subconscious. These are both things the group is made aware of in order to give our meditation a bit more context and I personally really enjoy learning about the history and background to mindful meditation and by learning them I feel more included in the skill and more likely to learn it quicker and benefit more.

I am really looking forward to continuing this course, especially after today and the stressful situations that came with it, and I will keep all of my 0 followers (not strictly true) updated on my increasing awareness and mindfulness (and possible hippy pretentiousness).

20151021_164559

Leave a Reply

