A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Meditation #3

Technically week 4 but last week was a bit of a disaster and I missed the session.

This week we spoke about the importance of a certain concept which should be aqcuired and practised in order to benefit yourself and the people around you. And that is integrity. This notion of overall truth and wellbeing is demontrated in Yama, a series of commandments if you will. The first of the five commandments is Ahimsa, meaning non-violence. This is pretty self explanatory; do not be violent, do not kill etc. as these actions come from and fuel anger, a feeling which is not healthy for mindfulness or peacefulness. The second is not to steal, addressing the feeling of greed, the third is truthfulness; not to lie. A lot of untruthfulness comes from fear, of an outcome or otherwise. For example: if I didn’t want to go to an event I am much more likely to come up with an excuse that might not be 100% truthful rather than deal with the fear of just saying I don’t want to go and risk offending people and/or being liked less by those people. In this case, and a lot of others, there is an aspect of selfishness involved as well. The fourth is non-sexual misconduct, an issue which has been a somewhat regular occurrence in Cardiff in the recent months. And the last, non-intoxication.

We also did an exercise which involved wishing every other person happiness and peacefulness. I found this a bit strange to begin with because it involved a strange chant-like experience, but the more I made myself comfortable with the intention of the exercise the more I began to enjoy it and learn from it. This session has been more than helpful and has given me a boost to continue trying to be a better person, or at least be more aware of my reaction to people who irritate me.

image

Leave a Reply

