A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Digitalising my Idea

Apparently digitalising isn’t a word. Hmm.

So, advancement. Great. Being the enthusiastic little designer I am, I couldn’t wait to send my idea into the digital realm, and after about an hour and a half of fighting to Photoshop to do what I want it to I have ended up with this:

Deciding that green probably isn’t the best colour to use in this context (it will blend in with the trees and is a bit of a cliche and overused when it comes to being eco-friendly), I made a red copy instead, that will stand out and catch peoples attention. I know it’s not the most imaginative piece of design in the world, but it is something. And it is far from finished.

I then made the back of the labels, however after doing a quick survey of the target audience discovered that no-one ever really uses QR codes so this is something I will need to consider when adjusting the design.

I also did a leaf shaped version of the label, thought it looked a bit more authentic, but lacks the connection between the text and shape of the label.

The hashtag (#hugatree) comes from something the client said during their presentation. They mentioned how the label “tree hugger” is seen as negative, and they wanted to keep away from negative stereotypes. But there can be a lot of power in taking ownership of these stereotypes, and switching their meaning to be positive, also if they could use such a well known name to their advantage then why not? The charity is already active and popular on Twitter, this could be their way of moving into Instagram, which is quickly becoming a main form of social media, now on roughly the same scale as Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

