A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Mindfulness in Field

I am writing this sat on the grass next to the River Taff creepily close to a film crew on the shore, trying to be slightly mindful before I finish my stupidly long journey home. A lot of these posts have been pretty negative, and by “pretty” I mean my emotions have been dragged through the dirt, pulled up again and thrown back down into a myriad of dark places recently, by work, by uni, by other students and collegues and I think it’s about time I rose above it.
I finally have an afternoon free and I am spending it sitting by the river blogging about mindfullness. Time well spent.
So here we go. One of the main reasons I am happy to have chosen Tipping Point this term has been Anna’s meditation sessions at the beginning of every other lecture. After finishing the course she was running before Christmas I was worried I might fall back into the habit of not meditating and getting stressed and angry over things I don’t really have to be stressed and angry about. Luckily, Anna came to the rescue and I have a little bit longer before I have to condition myself into doing it alone.
There has been lots of poking and prodding over a response to the practise, with a very obvious prefered answer. However I genuinely think practising meditation, especially after work and before long days at uni, really helps me to keep calm and relax into getting the work done. Even the smallest act of noticing and adapting my breath has made working for Metro slightly more bearable.
It helps with creative flow, with positive thinking and motivation and in a perfect world I totally think it should be part of the curriculum, or Anna should record a guided session that we could use at home (is that weird?), or at least encouraged more in schools and uni.
Now, time for some Instagramming (@amyellenphotography, cheeky bit of self promotion) and bed.

image

Leave a Reply

