A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

DW Studio

Yesterday three slightly nervous looking  3D animators/designers came into uni from DW Studio and gave a talk about their journeys into the big scary world of design.
Their talk started off a little slow but got increasingly more interesting and inspirational as the hour went on, to the point where I now want to look into more of an animation style of design for myself (thanks for that one). The first thing that drew my attention was their show reel, it surprised me that such a dynamic, sleek, absolutely stunning piece of footage could come from the three softly spoken boys shuffling around behind a laptop.

Which leads me on to the next point that stunned me; every designer who has come in and spoken so far has spouted the contradiction that graphic designers are known for being introverted and shy creatures, and yet in an industry where you have to be outspoken and sociable to get anywhere. These were the first people to say that it’s your work that has the effect and at the end of the day you can hassle a thousand designers to get work but if they don’t think your style fits or you haven’t done enough they won’t hire you. They did say that working as a team helps massively and that going freelance is hard and people will always tell you what to do, but also that you should be the one calling the shots and working for yourself.

I found the talk really inspiring and now fully intend to do some research into 3D design and animation and even to have a go at it myself.

Leave a Reply

