A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Dissertation – Getting Started

I am only in second year, a mere graphics baby, and yet I have been thrown the hurdle of beginning my dissertation right in the midst of an intense storm of field and subject work. So far, too far into the term to be just getting started, I have done very little and unless throwing around ideas and contemplating re-reading a book on photography I enjoyed over the summer is enough to write a dissertation proposal then I am assuming I am in a bit of trouble.
But no worries! All I can do now is begin to make a real effort and try my best to reach the deadline despite everything else that is going on at the moment. I did miss a tutorial the other day due to timing issues (really, people need to start sticking to their assigned times, some of us have things to do with our day that aren’t waiting around in uni for hours while tutorial after tutorial run past their 15 minute limit). This means I have yet again failed to gain any information on what I need to include in this proposal or any insight into how viable my ideas are. I also have no idea what kind of things I need to be reading or how to structure the document at all. I think my next move is to finally get around to emailing Jayne, my lecturer, apologising profusely and hope she gives me the time of day.

So far my two main ideas for my dissertation are:

  • Exploring the discrimination and prejudice against LGBT creatives both from within and outside of the LGBT community. Including subjects such as the history of gay rights and the current competition and bitterness between girls in particular and between homosexual and bisexual people

and

  • The moral and ethical issues regarding manipulation through visual media and corporate branding. Including how colour is used to affect people’s moods as well as exploring colour and consciousness as a general concept

Any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated, just drop me a message or a comment below this post. Until then I will struggle on and try to get everything I need done in the short time I have over this Easter break I appear to have rolled obliviously into, and obviously email all the relevant people and explain why I have been such a flaky, unreliable person this week. Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

