A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Dissertation Process

5,000 words in, half way, and I am yet to rage quit or set anything on fire out of anger or frustration. I’ve just had my feedback for the first half and it’s not too bad, if I do say so myself. I have a few major things to work on such as referencing issues, there’s a little repetition in my chosen subjects and my bibliography isn’t complete. But I have more listed on the RefMe app on my phone and the structure will pull itself together in the end I am sure. All my work is backed up about four times over, so I am feeling content about it all. Not quite positive, but I am happy to settle for contentment. Essentially my mark fell in the ‘Good’ category so I am happy.

I am enjoying the writing of my dissertation, up to a point. There’s only so much one person can read about a single subject, and only a certain amount of time that can be spent on that single subject before that person never wants to read anything on colour theory ever again, and withdraw from the topic completely and possibly consider becoming a nun on a mountain somewhere who never has to deal with ever writing anything more on morality or ethics or colour for the rest of her existence in this world. Colour blindness seems like a decent option right about now.

But I will persevere, and really I don’t feel that negative about it. I am actually quite enjoying learning so much and the sense of achievement and purpose from writing so much is a welcome bonus. I am sticking to my plan fairly well, except I find it easier to work on different sections during the same sitting than competing each section and chapter in order like I had planned. I’m not quite sure how effective this will be in the long run, and maybe it would be a good idea to finish up some sections just so I can leave them alone and focus more on others, but it seems to be working pretty well so far.

I am taking a trip to Beijing in December for three weeks over Christmas and New Year (which I am getting more excited about by the day), and I may get distracted and spend a lot of the time wandering around the city exploring and taking lots of photos, but it might also be the perfect opportunity to knuckle down on the writing of my dissertation. I don’t want to have to rely on this time to complete it but it might be just the scenery change I need to get it done. So I am not putting a lot of pressure on myself right now to rush and force myself into working. I know myself well enough to know that if I panic and try to get it done ASAP there is a good chance I will burn out and produce a sub-standard piece of work and not want to pick it back up to improve the quality of my writing later on, so I am working at my own pace, at least for now.

I still need to check on Moodle for the notes on how to write a proper reflection but for now I suppose this will have to do. This is where I am at this moment, I will try my very best to keep this blog updated as I go.

Leave a Reply

