A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Action Plan

On Friday we had the final critique of the Big Idea project. While it wasn’t the most full or inspiring day, it was definitely an important turning point for me. My project wasn’t finished or polished as much as I had hoped, as we have come to expect from ‘final deadlines’; as much as it ‘should be’, a piece of art or design is rarely complete, only acceptable, somewhat finished. There is always room for improvement.

During the critique we were asked to evaluate other people’s work and report back at the end. Coincidentally I was given Izzy’s work to look at; another piece on Eroticism. I felt this gave me a bit of an advantage and a chance to get some inspiration for my work too. The piece was the introduction to a guide book to help couples and individuals have a better understanding of the subject and possibly discover some unknown erotic interests of their own. Her design was clean and consistent, her typefaces varied but the colour stayed the same throughout so the graphic style stayed strong. The only thing I noticed was that the beginning seemed more like a collection of quotes than educational content or guidance. However this was only the start of the piece and so I am sure that would come later on.

Then came my work. I explained that the inconsistent imagery was only there to fill in for the photographs I had meant to take, so that wasn’t an issue. In terms of grid structure and layout of the text, my booklet was probably a bit too consistent and could do with some changes: I could swap over some of the photo and content pages, use some more typefaces (I have only used two so far) and play around with page layout as the topic is quite fluid and spiritual in some ways, I suppose, so the layout of my text and image should reflect this a little better; at the moment it is the same on every page. The most valuable thing I took from this critique was Matt’s comment on the format. I mentioned I wanted it to be stand-alone photos with text overlaid and intertwined with the image, I would probably scrap the booklet all-together. Matt mentioned maybe finding a middle ground; a collection of photos in a case or appropriate to the ‘witchy’ nature of the content, a collection of tarot cards.

So, here is the action plan:

  • Plan a photo-shoot: Who will be my models? What characters do I want to portray? How will the poses and setting portray these characters effectively? What props and costume will I need? Where will the shoot take place?
  • Organise a date and time for the photo-shoot to take place
  • Research into how tarot cards look, what materials they are made of and how they are used. Find examples
  • Mock up a tarot card design in Photoshop or Illustrator ready for the photos
  • Do the photo-shoot and upload/back-up the photos
  • Edit the photos to the style of a tarot card and place into the design
  • Get feedback from people on the course and a lecturer and make necessary changes before getting the cards printed
Leave a Reply

