A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

What Services are Currently Available to Young People Looking For Work?

For my final major project I have decided to create a supportive space for young people coming out of school looking for work. The first step of this project is to do as much research as I can, so that I can become aware of what already exists and how I can add to this to provide something that doesn’t currently exist or isn’t aimed at my chosen audience.

I have spent today researching what creative co-working spaces already exist in Cardiff and what they provide. These include:

  • Tech marina
  • Rabble Studio
  • Tramshed Tech
  • xibo hub
  • Cardiff Hackspace
  • Regus
  • The Sustainable Studio
  • Indycube

I did the majority of my research on Tech Marina and Indycube before moving on to see what schools in the area offer. These are some of the resources and support that they collectively provide:

(I was going to list them according to each establishment but I don’t want to end up accidentally doing free advertisement for them)

  • A “5 star” gym
  • 24 hour access
  • Canteens
  • Break/games rooms
  • On-site security
  • Unlimited hot drinks
  • Desk hire
  • Fast internet
  • Atrium/Meeting rooms
  • Photography studio for hire
  • Welsh and English speakers
  • Business support/financial investment
  • Woodwork and engineering workshops
  • FABLAB
  • Help with registering a business address
  • Touchscreen brainstorming software

Prices at these spaces range from £12 a day/£60 a month for limited access to small businesses, freelancers and start-ups to £195 a month for full access and £250 for a business address deal aimed more towards thriving businesses. Neither sound suitable for young people coming out of school.

I then went on to look into school policies, viewing every comprehensive school website in the area. I decided against contacting all the careers advisers/head teachers for primary research as I am sure they have better things to be doing with their time, and decided instead to scavenge for whatever information I could find online. Firstly can I just point out that school websites are absolutely awful. There were only a couple out of the fifteen websites I looked at which were easily legible and that I could somewhat easily navigate. It is beyond me why anyone would give the rest the go-ahead. I assume parents do extensive research when looking for a school for their children (at least I hope they do). Surely the website, often their first point of contact, should be considered a little more than “yeah it looks great, through some WordArt in there and we’re done!” – Apologies for the informality, but it genuinely irritates me how these extremely important establishments display such terrible consideration for web design.

Moving on… Here is what I found out about the careers processes and the services schools in the area provide to their students:

  • Web links to useful sites such as UCAS, CareersWales and Gov.uk
  • WRE (Work Related Study) is a statutory requirement on the curriculum
  • Industry days
  • Oxbridge applicant support
  • Fortnightly pastoral sessions (?)
  • College and university brochures in the library
  • Group talks with careers officers
  • Parents evenings
  • Booklets, DVDs and role play with staff

The most impressive school by far is The Bishop of Llandaff Church in Wales High School, which provides most of the above with the addition of:

  • Mock interview evenings with local businesses
  • Videos and case studies
  • Gap year and university advice
  • One-to-one appointments
  • University visits and ‘Aim Higher’ events

As well as schools, colleges and co-working spaces, which are all very reliant on self-motivation, there is also the job centre; Arguably the place people fall back on when the above seem too inaccessible or have failed in providing any successful work opportunities. The main services of the job centre include:

  • Financial support
  • Work coaches
  • Online job search
  • Twitter
  • School visits
  • Connexions – Careers advice for young people
  • Youth Tube
  • Advice online
  • Online links to useful articles

My next step is to use this information to guide my project towards an outcome which will provide something new to Cardiff, or that could work alongside these other options to improve the services already in place. For now I think it’s time to go home and catch up on some bad American TV.

Leave a Reply

