A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

FMP | Thinking of Names.

This is a little like naming a baby. Like a really annoying, complicated baby.

My plan for the next step is to write up a survey and send it out via social media, and through word-of-mouth. My brother is slap-bang in the middle of my target audience and he has offered to get his friends to fill it out for me too. My project aims to follow in the footsteps of organisations such as Heads Above the Waves and Rabble, and hopefully support them rather than becoming ruthless competition. So as part of my survey I am going to offer a piece of merchandise from HAtW to a randomly chosen winner from a list of people who filled out all the questions. This will hopefully give the audience motivation to fill out the questions and also support the charity and raise awareness of their cause, just a small step in the overall intended direction.

In preparation for writing my survey I have been considering a name for the project. To do this I had to think about the main aim of the establishment and who it is aimed at. Two of the major aspects of my chosen demographic are those in need of support or who are interested in mental well-being and skate culture. Mental health is a common theme of conversation and contemplation in the target demographic, and skate culture acts as an effective way of communicating to them. So with these ideas in mind, and after an extensive conversation with my brother (who is much more into the skate scene than me) I have come up with a selection of words to inspire the final name:

  • Fancy
  • Lad
  • Unity
  • Connection
  • Wallie’s
  • Goofy
  • Mongo (frowned upon)
  • Barley
  • Hurricane
  • Sugarcane
  • Overcrook
  • Salad
  • Carve
  • Crooked/K-Grind
  • Indy
  • Melon Grab
  • Benihana
  • Horse
  • Roastbeef
  • Stalefish

When deciding on a name I will need to keep in mind that it needs to communicate a positive message and be suitable for people who aren’t aware of or interested in skate terms.

(Link to survey)

Leave a Reply

