A little bit about me…

Hi! I'm Amy and I'm studying a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Communication at Cardiff School of Art and Design.
Feel free to scroll down and have a look at the work I've done for my course, maybe even leave a few comments.
Have a beautiful day!

Type & Design in China.

One of the most prominent aspects of Beijing, and I imagine the rest of China, is that it holds a great conflict, a tension between old and new, tradition and modern advancement. One way this conflict is made visible is through the use of type and design decorating the city, old painted lettering on sandbags in dusty hallways and hand drawn calligraphy in ancient temples, standing out against the pristine sharply printed lettering of popular American chain stores and coffee shops, and clean black and white English words on the backs of hoodies. Even in the traditional, historical parks and religious buildings there are electric billboards advertising the latest drink or phone brand.

The typography is one of the things that amazed me most about Beijing, and something which inspired my application to InternChina to do a design internship in Chengdu in the Autumn. The characters and calligraphy are just beautiful, and makes even the worst design look interesting. Here are some photos I took along the way:

There is a whole post on my creative blog about my (probably very limited and uninformed) opinion on the city if you’re interested in reading more.

Leave a Reply

